Detox “diet” week

I’ve been on a detox diet since Sunday at 11 am.  No dairy, gluten, soy, eggs, corn, or sugar.  I’m sure the ideal is just fruits, veggies, and raw nuts, but I also had bars (like Lara bars and some kind with pea protein in them), 2 slices of gluten- and egg-free bread per day, almond milk, and sometimes almond yogurt.  My legit “cheats” were one 10 oz cup of coffee a day (with vanilla coconut creamer, which had sugar in it) and, occasionally, almond yogurt (which also contains sugar).

I’m supposed to have 32 oz of tepid water with lemon and organic honey in it, but I don’t think my voice “likes” the lemon, so I’m just doing water and detox tea.  I’m having lemon water on the weekend, though, because I don’t have to sing.

It’s going MUCH better than I thought it would.  It’s not nearly as difficult as I had expected.  I feel fine, too.  Last night was the only time I really struggled with feeling dissatisfied.  I didn’t want to eat a ton of nuts and bars because they’re so fattening, fruit is super-sugary, and I just don’t really like raw veggies.  I’m probably getting 8-10 servings of fruits/veggies a day (3 of those are veggies, which is REALLY good for me).  I’m hoping that I can keep up the veggie/fruit stuff and just add back in the other stuff.  It’s a pain packing my life in a million Tupperware containers, and making my own dressing (water, apple cider vinegar, stevia, dijon mustard), but I don’t hate the veggies as much as I thought I would, and they’re very good for me.

I can start adding things back in tomorrow after my last session.  I’m thinking I’ll start with dairy, then add gluten a day later, then soy, or something like that.  I don’t see myself NOT getting Red Mango on my way home.

I can’t believe it, but I really didn’t have a hard time even on Halloween. Honestly, the hardest thing about the diet is the cost, and the fact that I have to go to the store so often.

Leave a Reply

