I had a dream last night that I was in labor at the hospital.  It wasn’t the hospital where I gave birth–just some generic dream hospital.  Boo woke me up at 5:30 (“Mommy, I peed”), so I didn’t get to finish it.  I had a belly (not a 40-week belly, but a belly) and contractions that I could tell were contractions although they were painless.  The delivery rooms were semi-private.

I’ve never actually been in labor.  I had complete placenta previa, so I knew from 20 weeks that it would be a c-section. I had a rare kind that my doctor had only vaguely heard of:  when the placenta started to get pulled away as my uterus grew, it did move away from the cervix…revealing a second placenta (“accessory lobe”).  It was a smaller, not-really-functional one, and the cord was in the right place, so it didn’t affect my baby.

I was hospitalized twice–at 24 weeks and 29 weeks–with bleeds.  I think I had some contractions with them, but I couldn’t feel it.

At 32 weeks, I had only a tiny bit of spotting, but I was having contractions every 2-5 minutes (again, all I felt was some back discomfort, but they kept me in labor and delivery in one of those weird beds with the cut out at the butt, so I figured it was just because of that).  They got them to slow down, but the next morning, I started bleeding badly, and I had an emergency c-section.

So, I’ve never experienced labor, and I never will–my uterus is a death trap from which only the strongest emerge alive.  I would have been interested “seeing” the rest of the dream.

Leave a Reply

